Marblehead’s 2023 municipal election was held on Tuesday, June 20.

Here’s a quick-reference guide, complete with links to relevant Current stories, editorials and letters to the editor, plus video clips from League of Women Voters of Marblehead‘s candidate forums, recorded and edited by MHTV.


On Tuesday, May 2, Town Meeting approved a nearly $2.5 million general tax override of Proposition 2 1/2, which will appear on the June 20 ballot. Town Meeting passed the override with 70% of vote, 534 to 230. Here is the town’s FAQ and budget summary, the Current’s reporting on the topic and our override calculator.

SELECT BOARD – Five seats open, one-year term

Six candidates for the Select Board are battling over five seats. All five incumbents are running, and former Select Board member Bret Murray of Abbot Street is hoping to unseat one of them.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, Select Board clip (courtesy of MHTV)

SCHOOL COMMITTEE – Two seats open, three-year term

There is a four-way race for two open seats on the School Committee. Candidates include incumbent Sarah Gold, Paul Baker of Overlook Road, former Glover School principal Brian Ota of Merritt Street and former School Committee member Jennifer Schaeffner of Casino Road.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, School Committee clip (courtesy of MHTV)

BOARD OF HEALTH – One seat open, three-year term

Thomas McMahon of Gregory Street, Thomas Massaro of Lafayette Street and former Board of Health member Dr. David Becker (Todd’s father) of Nonantum Road are all running. McMahon ran unsuccessfully against Helaine Hazlett in 2022.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, Board of Health clip (courtesy of MHTV)

MUNICIPAL LIGHT COMMISSION – One, one-year seat open; one, three-year seat open

The Marblehead Municipal Light Commission has a three-year term and a one-year unexpired term that voters will need to fill. Incumbent Lisa Wolf will face former light commissioner Walter Homan of Haley Road for the three-year term. Homan lost to Light Commissioners Jean-Jacques Yarmoff and Michael Hull in a close race in 2022. As for the one-year, unexpired term, interim Light Commissioner Adam Smith and Nathanael Burke of Mitchell Road will compete for it. The Select Board and Light Commission selected Smith to fill the vacancy created when Karl A. Johnson resigned his seat following the June election, citing health reasons.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, Municipal Light Commission clip (courtesy of MHTV)

ABBOT LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES – Two seats open, three-year term

Two Abbot Public Library Board of Trustees seats with three-year terms are open in the election. Incumbent Gary Amberik faces newcomer Katherine Barker of Locust Street and Marblehead’s perennial candidate Rose Ann Wheeler McCarthy of Hewitt Street.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, Abbot Library Board of Trustees clip (courtesy of MHTV)

RECREATION AND PARKS COMMISSION – Five seats open, one-year term

Five, one-year terms are open on the Recreation and Parks Commission. Four of the five Commissioners are running for re-election. Newcomers Shelly Bedrossian of Jersey Street and Larry Simpson of Rowland Street are vying for the seat left open by longtime Commissioner Derek Norcross, who did not seek re-election.

WATCH: May 23 League of Women Voters Candidates Forum, Recreation and Parks Commission clip (courtesy of MHTV)


Barring the world’s greatest write-in campaign in the history of Marblehead, the following individuals have been elected to their positions by virtue of running in uncontested races:

  • Jack Attridge – Town Moderator (one-year term) – ELECTED
  • Theresa Tauro – Housing Authority (to fill the remaining years of a two-year term) – ELECTED
  • John Kelley – Assessor (three-year term) – ELECTED
  • Robin Michaud – Town Clerk (three-year term) – ELECTED
  • Pam Peterson – Cemetery Commission (three-year term) – ELECTED
  • Thomas Carroll – Water & Sewer Commission (three-year term) – ELECTED
  • Barton Hyte – Water & Sewer Commission (three-year term) – ELECTED
  • Marc Liebman – Planning Board (five-year term) – ELECTED
  • Robert Schaeffner – Planning Board (five-year term) – ELECTED