Marblehead voters head to polls to decide tax override, candidate races

Marblehead voters are heading to the polls today, June 20, deciding a $2.5 million permanent tax override, along with several hotly-contested races for Select Board, School Committee, Board of Health and more.

Override supporters say the tax increase is necessary to fund dozens of town positions in the schools, public safety and public works, along with programs. Critics say the town has mismanaged its finances and should live within its means. Read more about the override debate here.

For a complete election rundown, check out the Current’s 2023 Election Guide at The Guide includes a tax override calculator to help residents determine the impact of the override on their individual tax bill.

The polls will be open June 20,  7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find your polling place, visit For more information, call the Town Clerk’s office at 781-631-0528.

Here’s a quick look at the candidates’ races.

Select Board: Six candidates are battling over five seats. All five incumbents are running: Jackie Belf-Becker, Moses Grader, Erin Noonan, Jim Nye and Alexa Singer. Former Select Board member Bret Murray is hoping to unseat one of them.

School Committee: There is a four-way race for two open seats on the School Committee. Candidates include Paul Baker, incumbent Sarah Gold, Brian Ota and former School Committee member Jennifer Schaeffner.

Board of Health: Three candidates are vying for one seat. They are: Thomas McMahon, Dr. Thomas Massaro and former Board of Health member Dr. David Becker. 

Municipal Light Commission: Voters will fill one, three-year term and one, one-year unexpired term. Incumbent Lisa Wolf is facing former light commissioner Walter Homan for the three-year term. Interim Light Commissioner Adam Smith and Nathanael Burke are competing for the one-year unexpired term.

Library Board of Trustees: Two Abbot Public Library Board of Trustees seats with three-year terms are open. Incumbent Gary Amberik is running, along with Katherine Barker and Rose Ann Wheeler McCarthy.

Rec and Parks Commission: Five, one-year terms are open on the Recreation and Parks Commission. Four of the five members of the Recreation and Parks Commission — Linda Rice Collins, Karen Ernst, Rossana Ferrante and Matthew Martin — are running for re-election. Newcomers Shelly Bedrossian and Larry Simpson are vying for the fifth seat.

Housing Authority Board of Trustees: Theresa Tauro is running for the remaining two years of an unexpired term. 

Other incumbents running for reelection include Moderator Jack Attridge, Assessor John Kelley, Cemetery Commissioner Pam Peterson and Water and Sewer Commissioners Thomas Carroll and Barton Hyte.

+ posts

Leigh Blander is an experienced TV, radio and print journalist who has written hundreds of stories for local newspapers, including the Marblehead Reporter. She also works as a PR specialist.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: