Marblehead boys lacrosse, baseball players receive top NEC honors

As the high school sports seasons wrapped up recently with championship games from Worcester to Amherst, the Northeastern Conference announced its all-star awards in specific sports, and it is no surprise that the 18-0 Marblehead boys lacrosse team dominated the postseason conference honors. 

Cronin, Wilkens earn top NEC lacrosse awards 

All-American Connor Cronin, the school’s all-time single-season scoring leader with 81 goals and 50 assists, was the consensus NEC Player of the Year, while his coach John Wilkens was chosen the conference’s best coach. 

The Magicians, who went on to win three state tournament games against Boston Latin (11-5), Milton (16-8) and Nauset (13-9) to make it to the Division 2 Final Four, were also honored with a number of all-stars. 

All-American Connor Cronin, Marblehead High School’s all-time single-season scoring leader, was the consensus Northeastern Conference Player of the Year. COURTESY PHOTO/SHARMAN POLLENDER

Cronin, who also made the all-conference team, was joined there by teammates Baxter Jennings, Sam Annese and Finn Maniaci. Altogether, they made up 25% of that elite club that featured 12 players. 

And three more Magicians — Eddie Johns, Carter Laramie (51 goals this year, and an even 100 the last three years) and Elliot Pluss — were selected to the NEC Dunn Division all-star squad. 

Keough, Maude chosen to all-conference team   

In baseball, Marblehead’s Shane Keough and Ian Maude were selected to the All-NEC team that also included Winthrop’s Colin Kinsella, Salem’s Jack Doyle and Rocco Ryan, Masco’s Braeden O’Connell and Jacob Shirley, Gloucester’s Zach Morris, Beverly’s Logan Petrosino, Danvers’ Steve Reardon and Peabody’s Cam Connolly. 

Marblehead’s Bodie Bartram and Riley Schmitt made the NEC Dunn Division all-star team. Their Dunn teammates were Noah Staffier — also the NEC’s Player of the Year — and his Beverly teammates Devin Koloski and Ian Visnick; Masco’s Logan Keune, Gabe Fales and Paul Donnelly; Tyler O’Neill and Mike Moroney of Danvers; and Giacomo Martell of Gloucester. 

Marblehead pitcher Ian Maude was named to the NEC baseball all-conference team. CURRENT PHOTO/NICOLE GOODHUE-BOYD
Marblehead center fielder Shane Keough catches a Hopkinton fly ball during a MIAA Division 2 Round of 32 tournament game at Hopkinton High School on June 5. KEN McGAGH/MARBLEHEAD CURRENT
Joe McConnell | + posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: